Run Mom, Run

A few weekends ago, I had the honor of running with our local school district’s brand new distance running program.  It is pretty neat for this Stinky Mom to see over a hundred third through sixth graders running their hearts out.  I know not all of them will stay runners, but it’s always possible we have the next great Olympian in our midst. 

Mom Goes Running and I had a small group of four kids to supervise and encourage on our mile long trek through mud and fallen tree limbs.  Group sizes were up to ten kids per two adults.

My 10 year old loves running. He ran in his first 5k last year and in Kindergarten, and he had the highest number of laps around the track for our school’s Make-A-Wish Jogathon (I haven’t seen the scoreboard since that year and I always suggest people sponsor him with a flat donation rather than a per lap/mile donation since he runs so much). This day, he was the third kid in the first mile and second kid in for the second mile. At the end of the program, they’ll have a 2-mile race.

Needless to say, I can’t match his speed. He doesn’t hang back, and apparently he is as competitive, or more competitive than I am when it comes to running. This is fine, as long as he’s a good sport and cheers others on too.

I’m genuinely happy that my son enjoys something that I enjoy, other than reading. It gives us something to bond over, and he’s becoming more open with me about school and friends. I credit that to his ability to identify with me.

This weekend, our entire family of six will be running/walking a 5k together. It’ll be a wonderful bonding experience, and maybe a few more runners will emerge.

Leave a Reply

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Rambling Mom

wandering through life...

Run DMT

I'm a mom on the run!

Latinas Run Hot

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

another mother runner

engaging and encouraging you to run like a mother

Shut Up + Run

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

Inspired Reads

Christian Kindle Books on a Budget

The Stone Rabbit

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

running escapades

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

The Best of Days/The Worst of Days

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

THE HATCHING OF A HEART

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

Maniac Mom's mission to train for a Mud Run!

Cheer me on as I go from a pack a day smoker to a mud run competitor!

Holding to the Ground

Trying to keep sane as the rules keep changing

