Running with Purpose

About a week ago, Pam from Moms RUN This Town posted about a FB group which matches runners to children who are unable to run for themselves.  It’s a free group, with the aim of getting the word out on disorders and disabilities to help heighten awareness and acceptance called I Run for Michael.  The stories within of these children and families are AWE INSPIRING and beautiful.  I can’t even read the words on the page without tearing up and praying and praising God for them.  That’s what the group is ultimately about for me.

I was matched up on Monday night, just before I went to bed, with Malachi.  He is 3 days younger than my daughter, and has Downs Syndrome.  His mom, Sally, and I have been messaging to get to know one another and so that I can learn about Malachi.  I’ve been thinking about him constantly since we were matched.  He’s simply adorable and his mama is so very sweet.

On Tuesday, I was able to for him.  I knew nothing about him at the time, except for his name.  Thankfully, over the course of the day, Sally and I were able to talk a bit and I learned about who Malachi is.

On Wednesday, three of our children are part of CLUB262 and Wednesday are group run days.  We talked about Malachi and I asked them if they would each think about, and pray for, Malachi as they ran, dedicating their miles to him.  My husband and I explained that while we all run for ourselves, it’s nice to dedicate our runs to something bigger.  I Run 4 Michael allows us to do this and still earn for ourselves (when you’re 5, you may not want to give away that medal you earned).  All three children said they’d be happy to run for Malachi with me, our oldest, 10, with tears in his eyes.

Malachi2

While run/walking, my daughter, almost 7, told me she wasn’t very good at running but really likes her swimming, could she dedicate her swims to Malachi?  Well, of course, that was a no-brainer.  So, today, I whipped up this handy sign for her to hold in a photo…

Iswim4Tonight will be her first swims for Malachi.  I’m very proud of her for wanting to do this.  And, I hope that I Run 4 Michael helps my children to learn to give of themselves in a real open-hearted sort of way.

If you’re a runner, or do anything active at all, I hope you’ll at least look into I Run for Michael.  If you’re the parent of a child with special needs, I think it would be wonderful if you would consider letting someone run (be active) in honor of your child. 

Happy running!

Melanie

One comment

  1. […] Today I wrote this post in the I Run 4 group on Facebook.  For more information about this fabulous and inspirational group and idea, see my post here:  https://talesofstinkymom.wordpress.com/2013/07/11/running-with-purpose/ […]

Leave a Reply

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Rambling Mom

wandering through life...

Run DMT

I'm a mom on the run!

Latinas Run Hot

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

another mother runner

engaging and encouraging you to run like a mother

Shut Up + Run

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

Inspired Reads

Christian Kindle Books on a Budget

The Stone Rabbit

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

running escapades

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

The Best of Days/The Worst of Days

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

THE HATCHING OF A HEART

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

Maniac Mom's mission to train for a Mud Run!

Cheer me on as I go from a pack a day smoker to a mud run competitor!

Holding to the Ground

Trying to keep sane as the rules keep changing

