Pink Saturday: Four years and 15,000 Friends

Today my son, husband, and I participated in The Great Race.  My son and husband ran the 5k, and I ran the 10k.  For me, this was my 4th year, 3 were in the 5k, and this year.  It is always a lot of fun, despite the massive amount of runners, second in Pittsburgh to The Pittsburgh Marathon, which runs in May each year.

Before the race.  Nope, the sun hadn't even risen.

Before the race. Nope, the sun hadn’t even risen.

Two of my friends running the 5k.

Two of my friends running the 5k.

IMG_20130929_070228The moon is still out.

Since we were running both distances, and the start is at different times (8 am for the 5k, 9:30 for the 10k), the three of us went together, picked up a few friends along the way who were also running the 5k, and then I watched them walk off toward the shuttles to the start around 6:30.  I went into the McD’s and sipped my coffee and ate a breakfast bar while waiting until the 10K friends arrived for our big photo and to board the shuttles to the start.

It was a beautiful morning.  Not too cold, but a little chilly.  We had our picture and nearly got right onto the shuttle to the start around 7:30.  The drive always takes a while to the 5k, but was much more entertaining with 6 other people I knew.  We chatted and laughed.  Then at the start, we headed straight for the porta-potties…those are quickly becoming my favorite place. 🙂

Me and my friends before the 10k.

Me and my friends before the 10k.

Nice shoes, ladies.

Nice shoes, ladies.

The crowd of 10,000 milling about before the race.

The crowd of 10,000 milling about before the race.

We headed out to wait in the Start chute.  At 9, I received texts from the timing powers-that-be that my husband and son had completed their races in 33:08 and 28:30 respectively.  Then at 9:30, we listened to God Bless America and The Star-Spangled Banner.  Then we were off.

It was a crowded run, so I knew since I do interval running, I needed to get to the side.  I picked right, which is different than normal, for some reason I usually end up on the left…not sure why.  I ran my run intervals, and walked my walk intervals, except when going downhill and at the last half mile, both those I ran the entire time.  I didn’t walk any of my run intervals, and my legs and lungs felt strong.  I even got a personal best.  It was only 22 seconds off my last time, but hey, 22 seconds is 22 seconds.

IMG_20130929_110713 IMG_20130929_110734

Hubby finished his first "real" 5k.

Hubby finished his first “real” 5k.

Then hubby, son, and I went to see the big “rubber” ducky moored by The Point in Pittsburgh.  It’s across from PNC Park (where the Pirates play) and has been all the rage since he sailed into town on Friday night.   They even had a big welcome party.

"Duck bup" as my 2 year old calls it.  This massive thing is moored in Pittsburgh through mid-October.

“Duck bup” as my 2 year old calls it. This massive thing is moored in Pittsburgh through mid-October.

Here my son and I are posing with the big guy.  It looks like he’s whispering in my ear, but he’s really pretty far away from me.

He has a secret to tell me.

He has a secret to tell me.

Then we finished up our visiting time in Pittsburgh by walking a little further to see the newly renovated fountain at The Point.  It’s beautiful.  I’ve never been there at night to see it all lit up, but I hear that’s even better of a show.

The fountain at the Point, newly restored.

The fountain at the Point, newly restored.

This shot just makes me laugh.  The duck is so big, you can see him from far away.  Someone likened him to the Cracken…and being who I am, I’m running with it.

The QUACKEN!

The QUACKEN!

The two little red rectangles are the incline cars...like trolleys that move up the mountainside.

The two little red rectangles are the incline cars…like trolleys that move up the mountainside.

I stopped to appreciate the beauty of the city.

I stopped to appreciate the beauty of the city.

I hope everyone had a wonderful week.  I hope if you have some free time you’ll visit Beverly at How Sweet the Sound and don’t forget to check out some of the other contributors to Pink Saturday.

 

 

4 comments

  1. What a fun morning! Thanks for getting us all together Melanie!

  2. Sounds like an awesome race. I also run intervals! Glad to finally find a “partner” who runs them as well =)

  3. This is a very lovely post for an awesome running experience. I loved hearing all about it along with your great photos. Congrats to you all.
    xo, Jeanne

  4. I can’t believe I didn’t comment on this, Melanie!!! I loved reading the recap of your run! It’s awesome that you had so many friends to do it with….and of course, even more awesome that your son and hubby ran a race, too! What a thrilling day! And congrats on your PB!! You are right….every second counts!!

    The lady who commented above me is one of my bestest blogging buddies!! She and Beverly have been BFF’s for years and years and they are both the nicest ladies! I actually have met Jeanne in person two times when she’s traveled to KC to visit family!! She’s also one of my biggest on-line supporters of my running !

    Happy belated PINK Saturday. This week mine will be a long one as I recap my first 1/2 experience!! I did totally run a 5K in our neighborhood last evening. I wasn’t fast, but I didn’t walk and nothing is hurting from the 1/2…so I consider myself a lucky woman!!

    L, Dana

Leave a Reply

The Orange Rhino Challenge

Yell Less + L.O.V.E. More® One Moment at a Time

Rambling Mom

wandering through life...

Run DMT

I'm a mom on the run!

Latinas Run Hot

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

another mother runner

engaging and encouraging you to run like a mother

Shut Up + Run

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

Inspired Reads

Christian Kindle Books on a Budget

The Stone Rabbit

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

running escapades

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

The Best of Days/The Worst of Days

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

THE HATCHING OF A HEART

What happens when motherhood and running collide.

Maniac Mom's mission to train for a Mud Run!

Cheer me on as I go from a pack a day smoker to a mud run competitor!

Holding to the Ground

Trying to keep sane as the rules keep changing

